List of winners of NDC primariy in N/R

The Presidential and Parliamentary primaries of the National Democratic Congress held in the Northern Region last Saturday have seen some incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) lose their bids for another term in office.

According to the Electoral Commission’s certified results, Dr Alhassan Ahmed Yakubu, a Deputy Minister of Food and Agriculture and MP for Mion, failed to win his bid for another term to represent the constituency in Parliament.

Other incumbent MPs who have lost their bids include Hajia Mary Salifu Boforo of Savelugu Constituency and Mr Baani Abudu Nelson for Daboya/Mankarigu Constituency.

Ministers of State, who have retained their bids to stand on the ticket of the NDC in the 2016 Parliamentary Election include Mr Iddrisu Haruna, the Minister of Employment and Labour Relations and MP for Tamale South, Alhaji Inusah Fuseini, the Minister of Roads and Highways and MP for Tamale Central, Alhaji A.B.A. Fuseini, the Deputy Northern Regional Minister and MP for Sagnarigu and Mr Ibrahim Mohammed Murtala, a Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry and MP for Nanton.

Mr John Abdulai Jinapor, the Deputy Minister of Power has won the primary at Yapei/Kusawgu Constituency, Mr Ras Mubarak, the National Coordinator of the National Youth Authority, has also won the Kumbungu Constituency whiles Alhassan Suhuyini, a presenter at Radio Gold in Accra, also won the contest at Tamale North.

Other winners include Tolon – Umar Abdul-Razaq, Daboya / Mankarigu – Shaibu Mahama, Mion – Mohammed Abdul-Aziz, Sawla / Kalba – Chiwitey Dari Andrew, Kpandai – Likpalimor Kwajo Tawiah, Walewale – Abdallah Abubakari, Bimbilla – Dr. Joseph Kwabena Manboah-Rockson, Tatale / Sangule – Tampi Acheampong Simon.

The rest were Zabzugu – Alhassan Umar, Bole / Bamboi – Yussif Sulemana, Salaga South – Abubakari Ibrahim Dey, Yendi – Hamza Yahaya Alikali, Savelugu – Abdulai Alhassan Red, Chereponi – Samuel Abdulai Jabanyite, Gushiegu – Thomas Kwesi Nasah, Nalerigu – Issifu Seidu and Yunyoo – Joseph Bipoba Naabu Six constituencies went unopposed and they are the Karaga – Alhassan Sualihu Dandaawa, Wulensi – Laliri George Maban, Damongo – Adam Mutawakilu, Salaga North – Alhassan Mumuni, Saboba – Bukari Nikpe Joseph, and Yagaba / Kubori – Ibrahim Abdul Rauf Tanko.

Meanwhile, voting in parliamentary primaries at Bunkpurugu was suspended following a court action against the process by a disqualified aspirant. GNA

Leave a Reply