40th MTN/SWAG Awards fixed for October 3

The 40th Edition of the MTN/Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards, has been fixed for Saturday, October 3, 2015.

A statement form the secretariat said, the event which will be held at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra, is expected to attract all the top notch in the sports industry as the Association establishes another milestone in its history of honouring distinguished sports men and women each year.

It said 25 sports men and women, drawn from various sporting disciplines will be honoured at the night with trophies, medals and certificates.

The statement said the award was in recognition of their excellent performance in the 2014 sporting calendar, whilst some will be honoured for their contribution to the development and promotion of sports in Ghana.

It said, the nominees include, athletes, referees and sports administrators who distinguished themselves in the 2014 sporting calendar adding that it will be the first event to be organised by the new president-elect of the association; Mr. Kwabena Yeboah and his team of executives.

The statement said, the event will be one of the significant moments in the history of the Association, as the SWAG Awards maintains its status as the longest running sports event in the country.

The event, which has over the years been held in May, had to be shifted to October due to the organisation of elections and other challenges earlier in the year.

Below are the list of nominees for the 40th Edition of the event.

Footballer of The Year
(a) Asamoah Gyan
(b) Andre Dede Ayew
(c) Harrison Afful

Premiership Player of the Year
(a) Abeiku Ainooson
(b) Kwabena Edusei
(c)Augustine Okrah

Discovery of the Year- Martha Bissah, Promising Star of the Year – Sharon Akwei (Para Tae-kwondo), Female Footballer of the Year – Jennifer Cudjoe, Amateur Boxer of the Year – Umar Abdul Walid, Professional Boxer of the Year – Richard Commey

Judoka Of the Year – Razak Abugri, Tae-Kwondo Player of the Year – Sharon Akwei, Hockey Player of the Year – Elizabeth Opoku, Athlete of the Year – Martha Bissah, Coach of the Year – Isaac Nii Odartey Lamptey (Trainer of Martha Bissah),
Dedication & Valour – Ali Jaarah, Referee of the Year – J.O. Lamptey.

(a) Edmund Zankoh – Contribution to the development and promotion of hockey in Ghana.
(b) Anthony Baffoe- Contribution to the development of football, esp. at the World Cup Brazil 2014.
(c) Magnus Rex Danquah – Contribution to the development of sports in Ghana.
(d)Akolya Pattel – Contribution to the development and promotion of cricket in Ghana.
Corporate Awards.
(e) McDan Ghana Limited – Contribution to the development and promotion of Tennis in Ghana
(f) Dwadifo Adanfo – Contribution to the development of hockey in Ghana.


Leave a Reply