Ghana name U-20 provisional squad for World Cup

The Black Satellites coach has presented a 35-man provisional squad to Fifa ahead of the U-20 World Cup in New Zealand

Ghana U-20 coach Sellas Tetteh has included 13 foreign-based players in his provisional 35-man squad for the upcoming Fifa U-20 World Cup in New Zealand.

The 58-year-old is expected to draw his final 21-man roster from the initial list ahead of the tournament holding between May 30 and June 20.

The list includes Cagliari in-form midfielder Godfred Donsah and Ebenezer Ofori of Swedish giants AIK Stockholm.

Manchester City’s Thomas Agyapong, who missed the African Youth Championship in Senegal due to injury, makes the list.

Goalkeeper Lawrence Ati-Zigi of Red Bull Salzburg in Austria has been invited, as Tetteh attempts to address the poor display of his goalkeepers at the AYC.

Stephen Anokye-Badu is the only member from the bronze-medal winning team in Senegal who was left out.

The team will travel to New Zealand for a training tour later this month ahead of the tournament.

The Black Satellites are paired in Group B alongside Argentina, Panama and Austria, and will open their campaign against the Austrians on May 30 at the Wellington Regional Stadium.

Provisional list:

Goalkeepers: Kwame Baah (Heart of Lions), Mutawakilu Seidu (Hearts of Oak), Michael Sai (Berekum Chelsea), Lawrence Ahi (Red Bull Salzburg)

Defenders: Kingsley Fobi (Right to Dream), Owusu Bempah (Hearts of Oak), Joseph Aidoo (Inter Allies), Joseph Adjei (Wa All Stars), Nicholas Opoku (B. Chelsea), Emmanuel Ntim (Valenciennes), Latif Abubakar (Egypt), Yakubu Mohammed (Tema Youth), Patrick Asmah (BA United), Patrick Kpozo (Inter Allies)

Midfielders: Thomas Agyapong (Man City), Aseidu Attobrah (New Edubiase), Emmanuel Oti (Sporting Braga), Kennedy Boateng (WAFA), Godfred Donsah (Calgliari), Kofi Yeboah (Wa All Stars), Michael Otoo (Unistar), Prosper Kasim (Inter Allies), Emmanuel Antwi (Liberty Professionals), David Atanga (Red Bull Salzburg), Agbenyu Lumor (F.C. Porto)

Forwards: Issah Abbas (Deportivo), Benjamin Tetteh (Dreams FC), Samuel Afful (Hasaacas), Yaw Yeboah (Man City), Ebenezer Ofori (AIK Stockholm), Clifford Aboagye (Granada), Osabutey Jonah (Tema), Emmanuel Boateng (Rio Ave), Samuel Tetteh (WAFA), Osei Barnes (Paios Ferriera)


Leave a Reply