NDC Congress results: Kofi Adams, Portuphy win, Kwabena Adjei loses

NDC National Chairman Dr. Kwabena Adjei at the rallyTwo leading members of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Dr. Kwabena Adjei and Yaw Boateng Gyan have lost their positions as National Chairman and National Organiser of the governing party respectively.

Kofi Adams today grabbed the National Democratic Congress’ National Organiser position from Incumbent Yaw Boateng Gyan.

Provisional results indicate that Mr Adams recorded an overwhelming victory, polling 2,547 to beat the incumbent, Yaw Boateng Gyan whose 743 secured votes were insufficient to keep him the position.

Dr. Kwabena Adjei lost the position after managing only 392 votes against the delegates’ preferred choice, Kofi Portuphy, currently the National Coordinator for the National Disaster Management Organisation (NADMO) who polled 2,413 votes.

Jemima Anita Desooso, Lee Ocran, Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo, Betty Mould-Iddrisu, Anthony Gyampo and Harry Zakour grabbed six available Vice Chairmanship positions.

The Communications Officer, formerly Propaganda Secretary position was won by Solomon Nkansah, who polled 1528 as opposed to Kobla Fiagbe, 1440 votes.

Voting ended approximately 8pm at the Baba Yara Sports Stadium, Kumasi in the Ashanti Region where the 8th National Delegates’ Congress was held. It took officials from the Electoral Commission about five hours to do the sorting and counting of ballots, before eventually announcing the results.

About 3,600 delegates from ten regions across the country took turns to cast their ballots to elect 24 national officers out of the 70 who contested the positions.

Alhaji Huudu Yahaya in a surprise move withdrew from the chairmanship race, minutes before the casting of ballots began, leaving the battle to Incumbent chair, Kwabena Adjei, NADMO boss Kofi Portuphy and Dan Abodakpi.

Below are provisional results from our team on the ground

National Chairman

Kwabena Adjei 392

Kofi Portuphy 2,413

Dan Abodakpi 610

Vice Chair

Jemima Anita Desooso 372

LeeOcran 286

Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo 517

Betty Mould-Iddrisu 401

Anthony Gyampo 347

Harry Zakour 374

National Organiser

Yaw Boateng Gyan 743

Kofi Adams 2,547

Communications Officer

Godson Kobla Agbeli Fiagbe 1440

Solomon Yaw Nkansah 1528

Nii Dodoo Dodoo

Source: myjoyonline

Leave a Reply