Mental Health Authority Board to establish sub-committees

The Board of Directors of the Mental Health Authority (MHA) is to establish sub-committees to ensure effective and efficient operation.

These are Regional Mental Health Coordinating Committees, District Coordinating Committees, Mental Health Tribunal and Visiting Committees.

Dr Akwasi Osei, Acting Chief Executive Officer of MHA announced this at the Four-day Annual General Meeting of Community Psychiatric Officers (CPOs) and Community Mental Health Officers (CMHOs) at the College of Health and Well-Being, Kintampo in the Brong-Ahafo Region.

He explained that establishment of these structures, will indicate that the community oriented care is on course, and in addition, would be training health personnel in basic mental health care to be able to administer first aid.

Dr Osei said the training of traditional and faith based healers in mental health care would be undertaken to serve as informal community mental health workers.

He explained that the training was to recognize what they could handle and empower them to do early referrals of cases outside their domain. GNA

Leave a Reply