Farmer Organizations in Africa Receive Awards

The Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA) and African Investment Climate Research (AFRICRES) has honoured Farmer Organizations (FOs) across Africa in Accra.

The 2013 African Farmer of the Year Awards (AFOYA) event was organized to recognize and reward smallholder farmers throughout Africa for their vital role in promoting food security across the African continent.

In all, 15 FOs from Burkina Faso, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Mali, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, and Uganda received awards in Income Diversity, Youth and Female Participation, Advocacy, Governance, and Market Access.

A statement signed by Mr Praise Nutakor, Senior Communications Officer, Stratcomm and copied to the Ghana News Agency, said Impabaruta, a Rwandan Farmer Organization, emerged as the overall winner, picking the coveted prize.

The statement said it is expected that these awards would motivate FOs to improve their performance by strengthening their capacities in areas that are weak to ensure efficiency.

It said through this, FOs would be better placed to provide efficient services for their members to promote their work.

According to the statement the category of Income Diversity Award the National Union of Coffee Agribusiness and Farm Enterprises (NUCAFE), Uganda is the Winner; Kenya National Federation of Agri Producers (KENFAP), Kenya was the first runner up and FASO JIGI/ PACCEM from Mali was the second runner up.

The Youth and Female Participation Award was won by NAIMA Development CBO, Kenya, while Impabaruta, Rwanda was the first runner up and New Generation Commercial Farmers, Nigeria was the second runner up.

The Advocacy Award went to Schemers Community Based Organization, Kenya; with National Small Holder Farmer Association of Malawi (NASFAM), Malawi as first runner up and L’Union Des Sociétés Coopératives Des Producteurs De Mais, Mali second runner up.

Hekima Horticulture Self-Help Group, Kenya won the Governance Award while IABM, Rwanda and Konapindibu Financial and Agricultural Farmers, Sierra Leone were the first and second runner ups respectively.

The Market Access Award went to Union of Groups for Marketing of Agriculture products Mouhoun (UGCPA/BM), Burkina Faso; with the first and second runner ups going to The Lord Is My Shepherd, Ghana and Owefwe Obwambami Self-Help Group, Kenya respectively.

The award ceremony was graced by the Deputy Minister of Agriculture, Dr. Hannah Bissiw and various stakeholders from the agricultural sector. GNA

Leave a Reply