Five women from the Central Region will be in next parliament

Five constituencies in the Central Region would be represented in parliament by women when the house is reconstituted in 2013.

The constituencies are the Awutu-Senya-East and Awutu Senya West, Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa, Gomoa Central and Agona East.

Out of the five constituencies the New Patriotic Party (NPP) had only one with the remaining representing the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

In all 15 women filed to contest in the 23 constituencies in the region and they represented the NDC, Progressive People’s Party (PPP), NPP, People’s National Convention (PNC) and the Convention People’s Party (CPP).

Madam Hannah Serwaah Tetteh Minister of Trade and Industry who contested for the Awutu –Senya-West on the ticket of the NDC won with 23,083 votes, against Oppey Abbey of NPP with 18,487, Moses Arhinful Acquah of PPP with 3,237 votes, Emmanuel Nenyi Abban Mensah of the CPP with 1,288 votes and Emmanuel Okaatah Ankrah of the United Renaissance Party, getting 214 votes.

Mrs Georgina Nkrumah Boah who is also Asikuma-Odoben- Brakwa District Chief Executive (DCE), took the constituency seat with 23,812 votes against Anthony Effah of the NPP with 21,012 votes, Madam Comfort Wilson Aggrey of PPP recorded 337 votes, Mr James Kyei- Baah of the National Democratic Party (NDP) had 95 votes with Bannasco Francis Ampong Ansah an independent candidate recording 609 votes .

Mrs Rachel Florence Appoh who represented the NDC for the Gomoa Central seat, which is one of the newly created constituencies in the region won with 15,719 against Edward Cudjoe of the NPP who got 111,385 votes, Madam Grace Appiah of the PPP recorded 314 votes whilst Mr Isaac Turkson of the NDP had 108 votes.

Madam Queenstar Sawyerr who contested on the NDC ticket in the Agona East Constituency won with 22.689 votes against John Agyabeng of the NPP who recorded 18,049 votes, Esther Aboagye of the PPP had 246 votes, Magnus Idun of the NDP had 56 votes and Bashiru Musu an Independent candidate recorded 93 votes.

The only female NPP Member of Parliament-elect in the region; Madam Mavis Hawa Koomson, contested in the Awutu-Senya-East to beat the District Chief Executive Dr Adams Nuhu with 31,054 as against 26,884 votes for the DCE, Rashid Adu-Gyamfi of PPP had 1,024 votes and Mumuni Iddisah of the PNC had 124 votes.

Nationwide a total of 133 women contested in this year’s parliamentary election representing 30 per cent which is the highest number of women who have contested parliamentary seats in Ghana’s political history. GNA

Leave a Reply