Presidential and parliamentary election produces amazing outcome in Western Region

This year’s presidential and parliamentary elections have produced amazing outcomes in the Western Region with some New Patriotic Party (NPP) incumbent members of parliament suffering defeat.

Mr Samuel Johnfiah of the NPP, who had been voted into parliament on three consecutive occasions, suffered defeat to Mr George Kwame Aboagye of the National Democratic Congress, who was also a former chief executive officer of the Ghana Investment Promotion Council (GIPC).

The former Western Regional Minister under the President Kufuor-led administration, Mr Joseph Boahen Aidoo surprisingly lost to virtually unknown NDC candidate, Akwasi Oppong Fosu in the Amenfi East Constituency.

In the Evalua-Gwira Constituency, Madam Catherine Abelema Afeku, who was the incumbent MP in the area lost her seat to NDC candidate, Kweku Temakyi-Kessie.

In the Jomoro Constituency, the only seat held by the Convention Peoples Party by Madam Samia Yaba Nkrumah was lost to the NDC candidate Wing Commander Francis Kablan-Anaman (Rtd).

However, some NPP gurus in the region managed to retain their seats after a hot contest.

Those who narrowly retained their seats included Papa Owusu Ankomah in the Sekondi Constituency, Mr Joe Ghartey for Essikado-Ketan defeated NDC’s Thomas Charlie Brown whilst Joe Baidoo-Ansah sailed through narrowly in the newly created Kwesiminstsim seat by defeating NDC’s Francis Apuri.

In Takoradi, the incumbent NPP MP, Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, defeated his closest rival, Alfred Ekow Gyan of the NDC whilst Madam Gifty Eugenia Kusi retained the Tarkwa-Nsuaem seat for the NPP by defeating Madam Christina Kobbina, NDC candidate, who is also the municipal chief executive.

Meanwhile, the NDC had gained more grounds in the region by sweeping about 18 seats out of 26 improving upon the hitherto 11 seats.

In the Shama Constituency, the incumbent NDC MP, Gabriel Kwadwo Essilfie, retained his seat by defeating his closest rival, Joseph Cantamanto Gabrah of the NPP.

The Deputy Energy Minister, Mr Emmanuel Armah Kofi-Buah, defeated his opponent, Kwesi Bonzoh, in the Ellembelle Constituency.

Paul Evans Aidoo, Western Regional Minster, also won his seat in the Sefwi-Wiawso by defeating Dr Kweku Afriyie of the NPP.

Smek Ackah also won Suaman for the NDC whilst Sampson Ahi, who was MP for Juaboso, but as a result of division of that constituency into two; Bodi and Juaboso, he contested the Bodi seat and won decisively.

Moreover, both NDC and NPP new entrants managed to win seats in the newly created constituencies.

Joseph Cudjoe of the NPP won the newly created Effia Constituency by defeating the presiding member for the Sekondi-Takoradi Assembly, Mohammed Ali of the NDC.

George Kwame Aboagye of the NDC surprisingly defeated NPP’s sitting MP, Samuel Johnfiah in the Ahanta West Constituency in a keenly contested poll.

Mr Kweku Temankyi-Kessie, a new entrant for the NDC, defeated the sitting NPP MP, Madam Catherine Afeku in the Evalua-Gwira.

The region is relatively calm as people are glued to their television sets and radios monitoring the elections.

The election security taskforce are still patrolling the region to curb any eventualities. GNA

Leave a Reply