Former CEO of GIPC narrowly wins Ahanta West parliamentary seat

Mr. George Kwame Aboagye, who contested the 2012 parliamentary election on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress, won the Ahanta West seat.

The former Chief Executive Office (CEO) of the Ghana Investment Promotion Council (GIPC), had 21,143 votes to defeated the sitting Member of Parliament, Samuel Johnfiah of the New Patriotic Party,who had 20,099 votes.

David Oscar Yawson of the PPP, obtained 4,658 votes whilst Anthony Ackah of the CPP had 320 votes.

The Returning Officer, Mr. Felix Aninakwah, declared the certified results at Agona Nkwanta on Saturday morning.

There were 47,364 total votes cast out of which 45,756 were valid and 1,608 rejected ballots.

In the presidential contest, the NDC candidate, John Dramani Mahama had 19,609 votes, Nana Akufo-Addo of the NPP had 24,655 votes, Henry Herbert Lartey of the GCPP had 216 votes, Papa Kwesi Nduom of the PPP obtained 874 votes and PNC’s Hassan Ayariga had 51 votes.

The rest of the presidential results are: Dr. Michael Abu Sakara Foster of the CPP had 83 votes, Akwasi Addai-Odike of the UFP had 134 votes whilst Independent candidate, Jacob Osei-Yeboah had 134 votes.

In all, 47,364 votes were cast and 45,756 of them were valid and 1,608 votes were rejected.

The total registered voters in the constituency is 63,792 with 74 percent voter turnout. GNA

Leave a Reply