Ningo residents angry over E.T. Mensah’s win

The incumbent Member of Parliament for the Ningo-Prampram constituency, Mr Enoch Teye Mensah of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has been retained for the sixth time as he pulled 21,178 votes as compared to his nearest contender Mr Sylvester Tetteh of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) had 17,122.

Residents of Ningo who for some time now have expressed their displeasure at the little development they have received since 1996 that Mr Mensah became the MP of the constituency, threw stones into the collating centre as well as set some vehicles on fire when it turned out that the incumbent had won the seat again.

Prior to the collating, the residents of Ningo jubilated and poured powder on themselves when the results of the polling stations favoured the NPP candidate.

The CPP candidate, Mr Frederick Marmah Martey, had 429 votes, Casmore Nii Okine Mensah of the PPP got 447 votes while the NDP candidate, Mr Michael Kwetey Tetteh, received no votes.

The total parliamentary votes cast the Ningo-Prampram constituency was 39,839 out of which 663 were rejected.

For the presidential results are NDC-28,490, GCPP-137, NPP-9,681, CPP-161, PNC-100, UFP-41, PPP-100 and JOY-45.

Total valid votes were 38,655 out of which 663 were rejected. GNA

Leave a Reply