All set for Ghana’s Election 2012

Ghana is set for Election 2012 to either affirm the democratic dispensation of two straight terms of four years each for the ruling party or change government for the first time since 1992 just after four years in office.

Former President Jerry John Rawlings of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) as incumbent Presidential Candidate was retained in the 1996 Election a feat which was repeated in Election 2004, by former President John Agyekum Kufuor of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Political pundit therefore described the development as a democratic convention, but Ghana News Agency analysis of Election 2012 political terrain suggests the trend is under serious threat.

The demise of late President John Evans Atta Mills and the subsequent assumption of office by then Vice President John Dramani Mahama as the President have changed the political dynamism.

The formation of two new parties the National Democratic Party (NDP) an offshoot of the ruling NDC and the Progressive Peoples Party (PPP) and offshoot of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) also seem to have added new impetus to the dynamism of Election 2012.

The introduction of Biometric Voter Identification Card and the electronic verification machinery at the Polling Stations seemed to dib any rigging mechanism by any political party out of control.

The Electoral Commission (EC) has completed to distribution of all electoral materials to the regional and district capitals under strict security arrangement for onward distribution to the Polling Stations on Friday, December 7.

According to the electoral rules, all the political parties contesting the elections are to wind-up all campaign activities 24 hours before polls day of December 7, whilst the media is also mandated to stop all political advertisement within the same period.

The Presidential Candidates are President Mahama of the NDC, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo for the NPP, Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the PPP, Dr Abu Sakara of the CPP, Mr Hassan Ayariga of the People’s National Convention (PNC), and Dr Henry Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP).

The rest are, Mr Akwasi Addae of the United Front Party (UFP) and Jacob Osei Yeboah (JOY), an independent candidate.

Some 111 parliamentary candidates are contesting for 26 seats in Western Region; 106 contesting for 23 seats in Central Region; 204 for 34 seats in Greater Accra Region; 125 for 26 seats in Volta Region and 152 for 33 seats in Eastern Region.

Two-hundred-and- nine parliamentary candidates are contesting for 47 seats in Ashanti Region; 128 for 29 seats in Brong- Ahafo Region; 154 for 31 seats in the Northern Region; 63 for 5 seats in Upper East and 59 for 11 seats in Upper West Region.

The statistics indicates that only the NDC and NPP are contesting for seats in all the 275 constituencies; PPP is contesting for 211; National Democratic Party 155, CPP 145 and PNC 94.

Others are Democratic People’s Party 16; United Freedom Party seven; Independent Peoples Party five; GCPP two; United Renascence Party four; New Vision Party four; Ghana Freedom Party three; and Yes Peoples Party one.

Hundred and twenty 120 individuals are contesting as Independent Parliamentary candidates.

Eight are contesting in Western Region, six in Central Region, 21 in Greater Accra Region, 16 Volta Region, 17 in Eastern Region, 18 Ashanti Region, 10 in Brong-Ahafo Region, 18 in Northern Region, two in Upper East Region and four in Upper West Region. GNA

Leave a Reply