Sampa United emerge champions

Sampa United beat Japekrom Mpuasuman F/C 2-1 at the weekend to emerge champions of the Brong-Ahafo Regional 2011-2012 2nd Division Football Super-Middle League competition which ended at the Coronation Park in Sunyani.

Sampa United, spearheaded in attack by hard running Maxwell Sam, led 1-0 in the first half and went ahead to add another goal few minutes on resumption of the second half but the Mpuasuman boys redoubled their efforts and managed to get a consolidation goal just before referee Charles Nii Tagoe’s whistled for the end of the match.

Sampa United with the victory have thus qualified to join the National First Division in the 2012-2013 League season.

The three-day super zonal fiesta originally started with 12 zonal champions on Friday, July 13, with initial straight knock-out clashes in which six of the teams were eliminated.

In the first knock-out stages, Yeji Lazio defeated Sunyani United 3-2, Berekum Adwenpa F/C won on 8-7 on penalties against Bechem Youngsters, after the two teams had settled for one-one drawn game, while Mpuasuman thrashed Wamanafo Mighty Royals 3-1 and Kintampo Top Talents licked Nkoranza Everton 2-1.

Akrodie Nokia Boys were booted out when they narrowly bowed 0-1 to Sampa United while Wenchi Unity beat Sunyani Sun-City F/C 4-3 in a penalty shoot-out, after the two had tied one-one in regulation time.

Before the next stage of the competition, Wenchi Unity, which beat Sun-City 4-3 in the preliminaries were shocked by a decision of the Disciplinary Committee and officials of Sun-City protested to the three-member Disciplinary Committee against seven players of the Wenchi team.

The players were Alexander Obeng, Siaka Tanko, Thomas Yeboah, Francis Atta, Frank Akyereko, Austin Baffoe and Benjamin Opoku “who were all accused of having used their cards for more than two seasons”, the Committee said in its report, emphasizing that the behaviour of officials of the Wenchi team contravened the Ghana Football Association (GFA) Regulation Article 7.

“The Committee has therefore declared Sun-City F/C winners and accordingly awarded three points and three goals to Sun-City F/C”, the Committee whose members included Mr. Adoma Agyei, Chairman, Nana Boamah-Darko, Secretary and Douglas Damoah, member, said in its report.

In view of the Committee’s decision, Sun-City FC replaced Wenchi Unity for the three-a-side all-play-all second stage of the competition on Saturday, July 14. GNA

Leave a Reply