Metro TV offers live telecast of SWAG Awards Night

Free-to-air television channel, Metro TV has promised to telecast live the 37th Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards Night fixed for June 9 at the Banquet Hall, State House.

The decision follows a meeting between the Executives of the Association and the broadcasting outfit last Friday aimed at offering marketing platforms for the Awards Night.

Talal Fattal, Group Chairman of Global Village Media Group informed the SWAG delegation that his outfit will beam the event live to millions nationwide and the rest of the world.

He described the annual Awards gala as an important fixture on the sports calendar and with Metro TV’s un-rivalled sporting coverage, it is imperative that it gets better coverage.

The move will also present marketing opportunities for corporate institutions, who will be partnering SWAG towards the organisation of the Awards Gala.

Over 25 sports men and women drawn from various sporting disciplines will be honoured for their distinguished performance in the year 2011.

Key among the lists of award winners is the Sports Personality of the Year Award which has Andre Dede Ayew, Ajara Mohammed and Harrison Afful competing, with Andre Ayew, Emmanuel Agyeman Badu and Harrison Afful also vying for the Footballer of the Year award.

The Awards Gala Night will be graced by Mr Gianni Merlo, President of the Association of International Press for Sports (AIPS), Minister of Youth and Sports, Mr Clement Kofi Humado and other high profile sports personalities and dignitaries. GNA

Leave a Reply