List of awards winners at CAF Awards 2011

Herewith the list of award winners at the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Awards Gala held on Thursday, December 22 at the Banquet Hall, State House in Accra.

Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure beat Seydou Keita of Mali and Black Stars of Ghana midfielder Andre Ayew to win the most prestigious individual honour of African football.

It was yet again another close yet so far for Ghana as Ayew finished third behind Toure and Keita.

The 22-year old becomes the latest after Samuel Osei Kuffour (2001), Michael Essien (2006, 2007, 2008, 2009) and Asamoah Gyan (2010) to miss narrowly on the coveted prize.

Abedi Pele remains the only Ghanaian to have laid claim to the top honour since its inception by the continent’s soccer governing body in 1992, when he won the maiden edition.

Below are the list award winners at the ceremony;

African Player of the Year 2011

Yaya Toure (Manchester City and Cote d’Ivoire)

African Player of the Year 2011 (Based in Africa)

Oussama Darragi (Esperance Sportive de Tunis and Tunisia)

National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year


Club of the Year

Esperance Sportive de Tunis (Tunisia)

Most Promising Talent of the Year

Souleymane Coulibaly (Tottenham Hotspurs and Cote d’Ivoire)

Coach of the Year

Harouna Doula (Niger)

Women’s Footballer of the Year

Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

Referee of the Year

Noumandiez Doue (Cote d’Ivoire)

Legend Award

Mustapha Hadji (Morocco)

Austin ‘Jay-Jay’ Okocha (Nigeria)

Fair Play Award


Platinum Award

John Evans Atta Mills (President of Ghana) GNA

One comment

  1. yaya toure deserve the African footballer of the year.likewise it’s encouraging that Jay jay oko cha and hadji were awarded legend Award.

Leave a Reply