PNC elects Executive members for Upper East

Madam Agnes Atayila, a former Presiding Member of the Bolgatanga Municipal Assembly, has been elected as the Upper East Regional Chairperson of the Peoples National Convention (PNC)

Madam Atayila, a Nutritionist and an elected Assembly Woman for the Soe Electoral Area in the Bolgatanga Municipality, toppled the incumbent chairman, Alhaji Baba Mohammed to emerge the new Regional Chairperson. She is to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

She polled 39 votes while her closest contestant, Alhaji Mohammed, garnered 18 votes. A third candidate, Joseph Weguri stepped down at the last minute of the election.

The incumbent Regional Secretary, Mr Henry Fatchu, retained his position by polling 54 votes to beat Mr. Ayinpoya Nyaaba who had five votes. Mr. Apasera Namkina Prosper polled 36 votes to emerge the winner of the Regional Youth Organizer position. His contender, Mr Michael Zooga had 26 votes.

The Regional Organizer’s position went to Mr. Azure Iddrisu who polled 25 votes. Mr. Osman Mumuni had 16 votes while the third contender, Mr. Tuyaab Haruna Mintir, polled 18 votes.

Alhaji Amidu Mamudu Sisala was elected treasurer. He obtained 35 votes whilst Mr. Weyori Jarimaga Kombla had 24.

Before the election, the Regional Secretary, Mr. Fatchu, in a report to the conference, proposed a review of the party’s constitution to dedicate full chapter to elections.

This, he explained, would help resolve all the challenges that came up during elections of officers.

Mr. Fatchu further called for the resourcing of the party at the constituency level through the provision of logistics such as bicycles, motor bicycles, bill boards and office structures to facilitate the activities of the party.

Among party big-wigs present at the event were the National Chairman, Alhaji Ahmed Ramadan, Dr. Gyader Edward, who is vying for the national chair slot, Dr. Sulley Gariba, Mr. Alhassan Azong, MP for Builsa South and Mr Bernard Morna, General Secretary of the party.

Others are Mr. Hassan Ayariga, a presidential hopeful, Mr. David Apesera, former MP for Bolga, Mr. Emmanuel Wilson and Mr. Rockson Akugre, parliamentary candidate for Bolga.

The National Chairman, Alhaji Ahmed Ramadan, expressed his unhappiness at the lack of unity among leading members of the party and called on all to put their shoulders to the wheel to position the party in good stead for victory in 2012.

The MP for Builsa South said the only way that the party could rise to prominence was for all to work hard to increase the number of seats in Parliament and called on all to work hard to achieve that objective. GNA

Leave a Reply