NPP executives in Ashanti Region resign

Some executives of the Ashanti Regional secretariat of the New Patriotic Party have tendered in their resignation to allow them contest Parliamentary primaries ahead of the 2012 general elections.

Eight constituency executives across the region have so far resigned. Some of the letters tendered in have signatures of Kwabena Akuffo, Chariman of the Bantama Constituency, and Asante Boateng of the Asante Akyem South Constituency.

Speaking to Citi News, Mr F.F Antoh, Chairman of the Ashanti Regional Secretariat of NPP acknowledged receipt of the resignation letters as stated confirming the intentions of the resigned executives.

Names of Mrs Patricia Appiah Agyei, the former Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly Boss and former CEO of the Okomfo Anokye Teaching Hospital, Dr Insia Asare and Philip Asoa former DCE for Kumewu have come up as possible aspirants for the Parliamentary positions in the region.

Meanwhile, the New Patriotic Party has said the election of its parliamentary candidates for the 2012 polls would be held at least 12 months before the national general elections.
The release of application forms for nominations, an official statement said, would be advertised for one month in the various constituencies in due course.

The statement, signed by Mr Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie, General Secretary of the party, said the selection of parliamentary candidates had been advertised since September 13, 2010 and would last for 18 months.

The statement, dated October 29, said the announcement was in line with “Article 11 (2) (a) (b) of the New Patriotic Party’s constitution which governs the selection of parliamentary candidates.”

Meanwhile, all NPP office holders, polling station area, constituency, regional and national are being reminded that the closing date for resignation of office holders who are interested in contesting the upcoming parliamentary primaries in constituencies with sitting NPP Members of Parliament (MP’s) should be October 31, 2010.

The rule shall be strictly applied and, therefore, officers who do not resign by the said date should consider themselves ineligible to contest the parliamentary primaries.

Source: Citifm

One comment

  1. I totally approve with your opinions. We all obtain a benefit from this excellent post. This web-site is great. I have acquired a little things from here. Thanks.

Leave a Reply