NPP’s Amoako Atta sworn in as MP for New Atiwa

Mr. Kwesi Amoako Atta, was on Tuesday sworn into office as Member of Parliament for Atiwa in the Eastern Region, by the Speaker, Mrs. Joyce Bamford Addo.

Mr. Amoako Atta of the New Patriotic Party, swore the Oath of Allegiance, promising to uphold, protect and defend the constitution and faithfully discharge his duties as a Member of Parliament.

He won the bye-election, on 31 August, 2010 for the seat following the demise of Mr. Kwasi Ankamah, also of the New Patriotic Party.

The Speaker congratulated the new member on his victory and urged him to be committed to the work of the House.

Mr. Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the Minority Leader, urged him to learn fast and contribute to the growth of the House and the country at large.

He congratulated the Speaker for being the First lady to have acted as President of the Republic of Ghana in the absence of both the President, John Evans Atta Mills and Vice President John Mahama.

Mr. Amoako Atta was later led to his seat by the Clerk to Parliament.

Members reconvened after three months’ break from the heavy schedule on August 3.

Most of the members reported on schedule and were happily engaged in exchange of greetings, looking very excited and prepared to begin the business of the House. GNA

Leave a Reply